JavaScript seems to be disabled in your browser.

You must have JavaScript enabled in your browser to utilize the functionality of this website. Click here for instructions on enabling javascript in your browser.

Discount Rocketry is on Vacation! We will be out of the office from 8/5 until 8/22. The good news is that the Website will be open for orders during this period.
Shippping of orders placed during this period will be shipped beggining the week of the 22nd of August. Please direct your questions to orders@discountrocketry.
The following information contains some of the laws and regulations regarding the launching of Model Rockets and the use of Model Rocket Motors. This information may or may not be complete or up to date. It is up to the user of Model Rockets and or Model Rocket Motors to check their state and local regulations.

National Association of Rocketry Documents

National Associatiion of Rocketry has a number of sources of rocketry and safety information.
Laws, Codes, Regulations and Sport Rocketry
NAR Model Rocket Safetey Code

California

To purchase 1/4A through D engines, you must be 14 years of age or older. To purchase E or larger engines, you must be 18 years of age or older. Children as young as 12 may participate in an educational model rocketry program with adult supervision. Launch sites must be approved by the local fire marshal. The California State Fire Marshal’s seal must be on all approved model rocket engines. Do not purchase engines without the seal.

Link to California Fireworks Handbook

New Jersey

To purchase 1/4A through C engines, you must be 14 years of age or older. To purchase D or larger engines, you must be 18 years of age or older. Children as young as 12 may participate in an educational model rocketry program with adult supervision.

Link to New Jersey Model Rocket Regulations

North Dakota

To purchase 1/4A through D engines, you must be 10 years of age or older. To purchase E or F engines, you must be 14 years of age or older. To purchase G or larger engines, you must be 18 years of age or older.

Link to North Dakota Model Rocket Regulations

Rhode Island

To purchase 1/4A through C engines, you must be 14 years of age or older and have a parent’s or guardian’s permission. To purchase D or larger engines, you must be 18 years of age or older. To use model rocket engines, you must obtain written or verbal permission from local fire authorities to use a specific launch site.

Link to Rhode Island Fire Safety Code
Back